Family Home Advent

I like doing Christmas-centered Family Home Evening activities in the weeks leading up to Christmas, but I always feel pressure to make them more “spiritual.”  I guess my problem is that I keep reading books like A Christ-Centered Christmas, which while being fine and good in its own little universe, always implies that a Spiritual Family does religiosity in only one way: quietly, usually with the reading aloud of a lengthy story and much silent pondering.

In case you haven’t guessed, my kids aren’t much for silent pondering.  So, our lessons on the Nativity usually involve Katie screaming for attention until she gets to be Mary:

2013-12-03 20.03.18

I reckon Mary never had such a beloved pink blankie on her head.  (Excuse me — Katie would have you know that this is her “ABC Blankie,” because there are letters spelling out the word “baby” on it.)

The lesson about shepherds invovled a lot of roughhousing until we made the candy-cane cookies.

2013-12-03 18.52.55

Which turned out . . . wrong . . .

2013-12-03 19.11.37

Obviously I need to Be More Chill when it comes to FHE, and leave those prissy  “spiritual Christmas activity” books alone.  As Katie would say:

2013-12-08 10.05.00

Leave a Reply

